Chocolate Dipped Banana Pop Bar

Swirls and Spice

Toppings for Chocolate Dipped Bananas

When I saw this super idea at Hidden Ponies to make marshmallows pops with melted chocolate and assorted toppings, I knew we had to try it with bananas.  Because I’m just not that into corn syrup.

As much as we like sprinkles, to avoid artificial colours this time, I rummaged through my cupboards and the refrigerator and found a healthier array of coatings–pretzels, pomegranate fruit, almonds, and shredded coconut.  That’s not to say we wouldn’t use sprinkles (or even marshmallows) in the future though.  Yes, I’m ambivalent like that–a sorta health nut mom who tries to move in better directions.  Sometimes, but not always.

Melting chocolate in the microwave is often a dicey endeavour, but it started well.  After rewarming though, the chocolate was getting close to seizing and was none too smooth.  A fondue pot, double boiler or water bath is what I am recommending instead.  I’ll do that…

View original post 90 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Lifestyle Blog

Leave a Reply

