12 Weeks Of Christmas | Week 2: Baked Snickerdoodle Donuts

Sugar, Spice, Etc

DSC02216

I remember the first time I encountered a snickerdoodle. It was devastating. I was in 2nd grade at the time, and we were at a Christmas dinner, and the hosts were talking at length about a batch of  snickerdoodles, and how the recipe came from one of their grandmothers.

I was convinced that snickerdoodles were made from, what else, Snickers bars. I didn’t know what exactly these snickerdoodles would look like- cake, cookie, pie- but I just knewtheyhad to haveSnickers in them.

And then when the coffee was served I saw brown sugary cookies and I almost cried. How could snickerdoodles NOT have Snickers in them? I felt cheated, like when I got an oatmeal raisin cookie instead of chocolate chip. But that was then. I was 7 and didn’t know my way around the world of baking, and I assumed if it said snicker in…

View original post 410 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Lifestyle Blog

Leave a Reply

